Moderation in all things

It has been noticable  that there have have some fierce debate in the comments section of a couple of recent articles. This is great – we’re all for it, one of the main points of this blog is that people can  have their say – and no, we don’t expect everyone will agree with what we post. That was certainly never the case with the fanzine, and we wouldn’t expect it to be now.

However, some comments have, in my opinion, overstepped the mark of what could be called a reasonable debate, and degenerated into random name calling. I do have the ability to moderate, delete or ban comments, but so far have only exercised this to remove unwanted spam that had crept past the spam filter.

So the question I am posing is this – do the fair readership of this blog think that comments should be moderated, or should I continue to allow them to roam free and unrestrained? Your comments please……

Ed Head

7 Responses to Moderation in all things

  1. Bernard says:

    I take it this article is directed at me. If so, it’s a little harsh. After all, i only react angrily to those who reacted angrily to me. In my defence, i have always been provoked.

    Regarding moderating the site, i’m easy. Do whatever you feel is right. Contray to most people’s beliefs on here i do actually enjoy the articles on this site. Thus it’s not really in my interests to be banned from it or anything like that.

    If MancGill has got a problem with me then fair play, He’s reacted angrily to my posts and i’ve done the same. Eye for an eye in my book..

  2. ed head says:

    Bernard, no it is not directed solely at you. It is a genuine attempt to discover what people’s opinions are. There is certainly nothing occurring here that anyone is going to get banned for.

  3. MancGill says:

    I apologise to Bernard for acting like a prat and gobbing off, and to anyone offended by my comments towards him. It was unecessary and I let myself get too easily riled. It’s a shame that our bickering and squabbling has necessitated this article and for that I am sorry.

    Bernard, I have acted like a numpty. I apologise to you. I can’t ever see us being the best of pals, but it would be nice if we didn’t spoil all the articles with our arguments.

  4. Bring Back Les Berry says:

    Well, I’m sorry if my last comment upsets anyone (I should have read this article first…), but I think we should say what we want. We’re all passionate, and I for one think it’s great that Gillingham fans have been roused from their usual stupour! Why don’t we all meet for a drink at 2 in the Livingstone Arms on Saturday? We’ll probably realise we all like each other.

  5. Bernard says:

    Good call ManGill. I apologise too for getting riled. Quite pathetic when you think about it. Good to see that we all share the same passion for the Gills though.

    Let’s all get behind them on Saturday..

    Come on you Blue Boys.

  6. MancGill says:

    Ed Head what have you started? We can’t have all this niceness! 🙂

  7. Sy says:

    I think you should moderate it. Just look at the difference between the Gills365 forum(which is moderated) and the rival or OS one.

    In my mind there is no need for swearing or name calling of another poster.

    At the end of the day, we all support the same team and we all want the Gills to do well.

    There’s nothing wrong with a bit of banter but when it amounts to abuse I feel it is unacceptable.

Leave a Reply

