Aye aye aye Edusei

Saturday 6th December – Gills 1-0 Doncaster

Our third consecutive home victory was undoubtedly cause for celebration, as was the relatively solid performance. Having missed the previous two home games, I hadn’t seen us score a league goal since the late consolation against Southend two months earlier. And I didn’t see Flynn’s winner either – more fuck-witted buffoonery at Victoria meant yet again I missed my train, so my experience of the goal was no more than a muffled peep as I scuttled along Redfern Avenue.

The reason for it being no more than a muffled peep was easy to see when I got inside, as I was greeted with the sight of our lowest league crowd since we beat Wycombe in a morning kick-off seven years ago, the day England drew in Rome to qualify for France ’98 in fact. I had my row in the middle of the Rainham End practically to myself. Scally poured scorn on the stay-aways in the next programme, though I notice he wasn’t in his usual seat for the Christmas fixtures…

If you’re looking for a match report, this isn’t the place as I can’t remember anything else about the game. Except it was wonderfully reassuring to see a proper goal-keeper between the sticks after the fiasco at Layer Road – it really does make all the difference – while the unexpected return of Akwasi Edusei (now re-branded as Fobi-Edusei, presumably in the hope of cashing in on a few more letters on the back of replica shirts) was a revelation as at last we had some enthusiasm up front, a tidy player with pace who can hold the ball up. He’s little over 19, which makes it all the more staggering that it’s two and a half years since he made his debut with Jones Awuah when all our regular strikers were broken.

Champagne Moment: Knees Up to Jason Brown’s return – thank God.

Leave a Reply

